Rules of a Peanut Butter and Jelly Sandwich

Before I get started on how to make the popular peanut butter and jelly sandwich, I have to explain how a movie got me on the topic.

Peter and Vandy (2009) Poster

Hubby brought home this movie. It was okay, but I fell asleep during it and didn’t really care to watch it another time. It time-jumped and was annoying and confusing.  So anyway, the reason for the movie, there was a scene when the guy, Peter, comes home after a terrible job interview and his girlfriend offers to make him a peanut butter and jelly sandwich. He in turn gets upset and flies off the handle, cursing and belittling her because she is making it wrong.

He rudely tells her how to make it. While yelling at her he spread the peanut butter on first, wiped it off on the other slice, then add the jelly with the same knive. NO WAY…cross contamination of peanut butter in the jelly.

I turned to my hubby and said they are both wrong. We then proceeded to have a lengthy conversation about the proper way to make a sandwich. He was in favor of two knives.

I told hubby he was WRONG and offered him a better method saving a utensil.

I spread the jelly first

pbj3

Then was it off under

pbj2

Next, I spread the peanut butter

pbj

Then I have only one knife to clean and I don’t have to worry about cross contamination. I need to know if I make son a sunflower and jelly sandwich for daycare, there will be no risk of peanut butter in the jelly and make those kids with allergies at risk.

How do you make your peanut butter and jelly sandwiches?

Cleaning Schedule This week

  • Thursday 31st dust all furniture, catch up/declutter
  • Friday 1st  charge car generator, vacuum living areas, wipe down bathroom
  • Saturday 2nd door knobs and light switches
  • Sunday 3rd wipe down bathroom, organize and declutter
  • Monday 4th change sheets and towels, clean windows and blinds (HATE cleaning the windows…have to do it though)
  • Tuesday 5th clean bathroom, wipe down table and chairs
  • Wednesday 6th vacuum bedrooms, clean out food cabinet (will save for Friday after I go shopping)
3 responses to “Rules of a Peanut Butter and Jelly Sandwich

  1. I make it the wrong way. The only time we use grape jelly is for PBJ so I don’t really worry about the cross contamination thing.

    My hubby has vague memories of a big bowl of pre-mixed peanut butter and jelly. He says he thinks his dad would scoop both peanut butter and jelly into a bowl and then blend it into a smooth grey-ish blob to use in making sandwiches.

    Um… that’s gross.

  2. Good point about making sure the kids with allergies are safe.
    Here we do it this way: a knife for the p.b. and a spoon for the jelly. Makes it easier for the 5 year old to get the jelly out when she is making them herself.

  3. I always rinse the knife but I will have to make sure to spread the jelly first from now on too. I never thought of that, thanks for pointing that out!

Leave a Reply

