Afraid, but Worth It

It’s Friday and time for  Five Minute Friday and Five Question Friday.

Five Minute Friday: AFRAID

Five Minute Friday

1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.
2. Link back here and invite others to join in.

3. And then absolutely, no ifs, ands or buts about it, you need to visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments. Seriously. That is, like, the rule. And the fun. And the heart of this community.

He’s afraid of monsters in his room at night. He’s afraid of shadows in his room. He’s afraid of the loud truck as we walk down the street. He’s afraid the medicine I have to put on his boo boo will hurt. He’s afraid thunder when there’s a loud storm. I hug him, kiss him, reassure him that all will be safe. Mommy, Daddy, and God are watching over him.

I’m afraid of him getting hurt and not being able to comfort him. I’m afraid of him being disappointed when failing a test or not making the team. I’m afraid of his heart breaking when the one he loves, loves someone else. I’m afraid that he will forget how to love and enjoy life. I’m afraid that he will be alone when he is older. I’m afraid he will be faced with pure evil and not have me there to protect him. Despite all my fears, I pray to God. I pray that he remembers God is always there, watching over him and standing there to support him. I pray that he remembers being a good person is more important than being right. I pray that he finds true love and happiness in himself and others and not in material things.

Whenever I get too worried, I smile thinking about him singing the lyrics to Tom Petty’s song I Won’t Back Down. It was featured in the kids movie, Barnyard. He will sing these lyrics and it gives me hope that he will never be afraid or alone.

You could stand me up at the gates of hell
But I won’t back down

But I’ll stand my ground and I won’t back down

superman

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

1. What is your favorite book to read with your kids? I love reading I’ll Love you Forever to my guy. It’s a mom and her little boy. There are not too many books about only kids, so this one is perfect. I also love reading Oh The Places You’ll Go he doesn’t really understand it now, but one day he will.

Love You ForeverOh, the Places You'll Go!

2. After having kids, what body part has changed the most? It should be what hasn’t changed, LOL. My skin is dryer, my body bigger, my feet bigger, my hair dryer…but Dinosaur was worth it.

CAM00702

3. Would you ever go back to college? What would you study? I’m always taking courses for professional development, but I wold love to take some culinary courses. It would be quite fantastic to cook and bake like a pro.

4. How do you close a phone call? Bye, bye bye or other? Usually I end with my calls with… “Oh no, Dinosaur is_____________. I gotta go.” I don’t have too many uninterrupted calls when he’s around.

5. What is the one food that will always be your “cheat food” on a diet? I was thinking hard about this, but the answer is EVERYTHING. I love food and really wouldn’t pass anything up. 

3 responses to “Afraid, but Worth It

  1. I love his cape!

    When I was reading your answers and saw ‘ my hair is dryer’, I thought you meant a hair dryer! 🙂 I was like…how did her hair dryer change?

Leave a Reply

