Welcome, but NO Ironing Allowed

Five Minute Friday: WELCOME

Five Minute Friday

1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.
2. Link back here and invite others to join in.

3. And then absolutely, no ifs, ands or buts about it, you need to visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments. Seriously. That is, like, the rule. And the fun. And the heart of this community..

He walks into church knowing he is welcomed, he smiles as he follows me to our seats. Happily he sits and waits for his snack. Though he may be holding his car and chewing on a snack, he is listening-welcoming God into his life.

Nervously, I walk into a a new place, unsure about what to expect but am greeted by a friendly face. That one smile, that sense of you are welcome here sets me at ease.

After a long break, I started blogging again and was welcomed in as if I had never left. Changes were made, social media introduced, but the welcoming feel of fellow bloggers remained the same.

I left for a bit while things imploded and I sought refuge in negativity and sadness. After I opened up my heart to the Lord again, He welcomed me back in and whispered that He has always been there for me, I was never alone.

Even though my three year old redecorated, there may be some dust, drawings on the wall, toys on the floor, pillows in the kitchen, and dishes in the sink, dog toys all over and beds unmade; you are welcome to come in. This home is lived in, we enjoy each moment and hope you can plop on the couch and enjoy the moments with us.

WELCOME…come and sit, get food, and enjoy…We have fun here.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

1. What album/cd/download are you embarrassed to admit you have? Oh, I have no idea. ummmm, I’m not that into music, but bought a few DVDs when I was going through my Joaquin Phoenix phase MANY, MANY years ago. I think I watched each one ONCE and now they are just collecting dust. I probably should just give them away, LOL.

2. What’s the one thing your spouse does better than you? Hmmm, my hubby sleeps better than me. Seriously, he can sleep through a tornado and wake up as if nothing has happened…then tell me I chose to wake up. Do all hubbies block out loud noises, like crying kids, or is it just mine?

3. When do you start buying Halloween Candy? I actually bought some three weeks ago, only because it was on sale for a really good price. I got a a bunch of candy for .50 cents to a $1.00 a pack… coupons rock. Besides, we are renting a new apt and I don’t know how many trick or theaters we will get.

I’ve been really good and haven’t opened ANY of the candy.

4. Family closets – Yay or nay?  Family Closet? You mean where we share ONE closet. NO WAY. Hubby has too many clothes, he has more clothes and shoes than me, if you can believe that.

5. Which home/cleaning chore do you hate the most? Why? I HATE ironing, absolutely HATE it. Before I had a dryer in our place, I would would either iron it while angry or just wear it wrinkled. Now, with a dyer I will sprinkle the clothes, put them in the dryer for a few minutes to get the wrinkles out or just were it. I only iron if it is a VERY important reason or occasion. 

this is found on clothing labels when something shouldn’t be ironed…well I need to put this over the door of my home.

23 responses to “Welcome, but NO Ironing Allowed

  1. I fully back you up on the no ironing thing. I refuse to buy close that need ironing. And geez, my mom used to iron our pillowcases if you can believe that! lol

    • I feel awful babe, I don’t know why your blog disappeared from my RSS feed. I bought a board and it’s a waste of space. With a dryer and a water bottle, who needs an iron.

  2. My Hubs sleeps better than I do too! I didn’t think of that one when I wrote my answers. Yep, he sleeps through everything and then wonders why I’m so tired! Hahaha! Oh well. I love that you’re a fellow Couponer =).

  3. I’ve always said my hubby could sleep through a freight train running through our room, so I think it’s just a man thing.
    Thanks for stopping by my place! : )

  4. My husband sleeps through everything. Then he’ll have the nerve to say he didn’t sleep well if he wakes up once to pee or something.

    I don’t even own an iron!! Well I do but it’s somewhere in the garage…

  5. Great FMF reflection. I used to avoid having people over because my house wasn’t in perfect order, but I’m starting to get over that. It’s the relationships that matter in the end.

  6. Amen. You are welcome to visit, but we live here. I gave up worrying about how my house looks for others a long time ago. If I am happy with the way it looks for me, that’s enough.

    Happy Sharefest. Have a great weekend.

  7. {Melinda} You’re my kind of girl, Karen! Life is messy — and often, so is my house. So if you can’t handle having to trip over a shoe or two or move over a pile of laundry on my couch, well … you might want to stay on the front porch! 🙂

    • YES… awesome. I need to make a sign for my door… I may have a cleaning schedule, but if I’m behind, I’m behind. I refuse to over obsess with cleaning. family is too important.

Leave a Reply

