Mommy’s Meatballs and Apple Crisp

So after my dealings with the rancid meat and smelly pizza dough, I had to purchase them again. After that set back, I was able to make meatballs with pasta and sauce, (I make my own meatballs now, for financial and health reasons) and meatball pizza pockets, meatball sandwiches.

Meatballs:
ground beef
diced zucchini
diced onions
diced garlic
1 egg
milk (I used almond milk)
bread crumbs

Mix together and make into small meatballs. I place them in my cast iron skillet and then cook at 300 degrees for twenty minutes. Once my electric oven is heated up, the food cooks VERY fast, I learned this lesson after a meal was over-cooked. Then place meatballs in sauce and simmer for about ten minutes, to allow sauce to soak into meatballs.

With all the extra meatballs, I was able to make meatball and broccoli pizza pockets (original recipe here) . This time I made the pizza pockets and used pancake mix instead of flour. I’ve been calling them calzones, old habits die hard. We also had lots of meatball sandwiches. I even used some meatballs for my omelets with salsa. Sound gross? Hey, got to use every last bit of food, right?

Quick apple crisp

1 apple, cut into slices
dry pancake mix, mixed with butter (I used non-dairy butter)
cinnamon or other spices of your choice

mix all together and place in cast iron skillet at 250 degrees for twenty minutes, they still have a little crunch. Then top with your favorite ice cream. I used Trader Joe’s chocolate cherry soy ice cream.

vintage-cleaning.jpg

CLEANING SCHEDULE

Daily:
run washing machine if full
put away dried clothes
clean up disaster areas from Hurricane Dinosaur

Tuesday:
clean bathroom

28th
clean fridge and microwave (hate doing this)

What’s your cleaning agenda today?

You can find me on  pinterest   facebook   twitter

18 responses to “Mommy’s Meatballs and Apple Crisp

  1. That’s such a cool idea to use pancake mix for the crisp! So glad I’m not having meatballs tonight…bleah!

  2. Your pics are making me hungry. Breathing is also making me hungry right now. I probably need to go to lunch. I just wanted to tell you great minds think alike. When I started my blog, I planned on doing the bakground with pics of Destructo with a cape with a big D on it destroying things similar to your background. I knew we were bloggie friends for a reason.

    • Cool beans babe (HUGS). It’s great to find another mom of a wild boy, especially one as sweet as you. I sewed a handkerchief to son’s shirt. He ran around for an hour screaming that he was a Dinosaur Superhero…he only stopped when he wanted for milk. My crazy man.

  3. i am following the “tea on tuesday” blog hop. i would love for you to visit my blog and follow if you like it.

    http:/www.blackinkpaperie.blogspot.com

    thanks
    new follower bev

  4. I need to do something like these meatballs for my kids. They’re kind of picky eaters, but I think we can form the meatballs into shapes of dinosaurs or something and that’d help tons!

    • that awesome recipe of yours has become a staple in our house now. It is a given that it will be made along with pasta and meatballs. love experimenting with veggies and sizes.

  5. Love that your meatballs contain veggies! Gotta try these cause I’ve been getting the frozen ones and they’re just not cutting it.

Leave a Reply

